This topic accounts for about 20% of the total score on the Dynamics CRM 2011 Customization and Configuration exam. Overall, users, teams, business units and security are significantly different in CRM 2011 compared to 4.0. Some of the issues highlighted here have come up a couple of times recently on customer engagements I’ve been working on, so I thought I’d post them up and make a down-payment on my CRM 2011 certification prep content at the same time. Cheers.
- Names can be changed.
- Can change the name of the root business unit to something other than the name of the organization.
- Can delete business units in CRM 2011. To delete a business unit, you must remove all users, remove all teams, and then disable the business unit. Then it can be deleted.
Users and Teams
- In CRM 2011, both are full security principles – i.e., records can be assigned to both users and teams.
- Users must always be assigned to a business unit, and they can only be assigned to a single business unit at a time.
- Teams must be assigned to a business unit also, but the teams you create can include members (users, that is) from any business unit.
- Teams, just like users, can be assigned security roles.
- When users are added as members of a team, they keep all security privileges included in any of the security roles they’ve been assigned, plus they inherit all of the privileges from the team’s security roles. Since security roles are “additive”, this means that adding a user to a team will never give them less privileges and may give them more.
Default business unit teams are created by the system when a business unit is created. These teams behave differently in some important respects from regular teams. Default business unit teams:
- Cannot be deleted.
- Cannot have their names changed.
- Cannot have members not in the business unit.
- Automatically assign membership to every user assigned to the business unit; cannot have their membership changed apart from changing a user’s business unit.